NA 50 Rawalpindi I

Pakistani Airblue chairman Shahid Khaqan

Voting Statistics of Constituency
Registered Votes 442458
Percentage of Votes Polled to Registered Voters 57.10%

Detailed Result

Contesting Candidates Party Affiliation Votes Polled
DR SARFRAZ AHMAD CHEEMA Markazi Jamiat Mushaikh Pakistan 580
HAFIZ RAJA MUHAMMAD SANA UL HAQ Pakistan Sunni Tehreek 997
GHULAM MURTAZA SATTI Pakistan Peoples Party Parliamentarians 44713
SHAHID KHAQAN ABBASI Pakistan Muslim League (N) 133906
SOLAT MAJEED SATTI ADVOCATE Jamaat-e-Islami Pakistan 7463
AAMIR JAMEEL Independent 438
SADAQAT ALI ABBASI Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf 46810
SAIF ULLAH SAIFI Jamiat Ulama-e-Islam (F) 7274
ENGINEER MUHAMMAD ZAKIR Muttahidda Qaumi Movement 173
WASEEM AKHTER RAJA All Pakistan Muslim League 280

Pakistan Muslim League (N)
Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf
Pakistan Peoples Party Parliamentarians
Other Parties

NA 50 is national assembly constituency of district Rawalpindi that covers Tehsil Murree and Tehsil Kotli Satyan and Tehsil Kahuta. NA 50 is considered one of the biggest constituencies of Pakistan which was among top 5 highest polling rate constituencies of Pakistan in 2008 elections. PML-N is considered a strong political force of NA 50 followed by PPP and PML-Q. Jamat e Islami and other religious parties also enjoy a good public reputation and support in NA 50 Rawalpindi. PTI has also emerged as a new rising force in the region with a good support among youth in particular.

In NA 50 family based politics is a key phenomenon and candidates with strong family backgrounds are more favorite. Abbasi, Raja and Satti are the three major biradries living in NA 50.

NA 50 Rawalpindi 2008 Election Result:
In 2008 elections two rivals of NA 50 Rawalpindi; Ghulam Murtaza Satti of PPP and Shahid Khaqan Abbasi of PML-N were gainst in a neck to neck contest and this time, luck favored Shahid Khaqan Abbasi and he was able to defeat Mr. Satti.

Complete result of NA 50 Rawalpindi for 2008 elections is given below:
Shahid Khaqan Abbasi (PML-N) 99988 Votes
Ghulam Murtaza Satti (PPP) 77978 Votes
Javed Iqbal Satti (PML-Q) 28188 Votes
Masood Ahmad Abbasi (Independent) 202 Votes

List of candidates contesting election from NA-50 are:
Shahid Khaqan Abbasi (PML-N)
Sadaqat Ali Abbasi (PTI)
Saulat Majeed Satti Advocate (Jamaat-e-Islami)
Engineer Muhammad Zakir (MQM)
Saif Ullah Saifi (JUI-F)
Hafiz Raja Muhammad Sana-ul-haq (Pakistan Sunni Tehreek)
Dr. Sarfraz Ahmed Cheema (Markazi Jamiat Mushaikh Pakistan)

NA 50 Rawalpindi Party Position 2013 Elections:
Political weather of NA 50 seems to be changed a lot and it seems that now results won’t be same as before. PTI has also appeared as a new choice for the voters and PTI is quite active in the region under the dedicated leadership of Sadaqat Ali Abbasi. PTI has got a good popularity in Kotli Sattyan, Murree and Kahuta. Javed Iqbal Satti who was PML-Q candidate in 2008 elections is also bent towards PTI. He hasn’t joined formally however he has sympathies with PTI and its expected that he will be joining PTI formally before elections.PTI can really upset from NA 50 if selection of candidates for all associated provincial assemblies is also made in a wise manner by having a mix of candidates from all biradries and from all Tehsils. Ex senator Sadia Abbasi who is sister of Shahid Khaqan Abbasi has also joined PTI. If she comes on the front foot and plays an active role in PTI Campaign, this can really result in a setback for PML-N.

Shahid Khaqan Abbasi is yet a major force in NA 50. He seems to have lost some popularity due to Bulk Water Scheme issue and Murree Plazas demolition issue but he can’t be considered a weak entity in any case.

Ghulam Murtaza Satti is another strong political giant of NA 50 with a consistent track record. If PPP and PML-Q agree for a joint candidate in the form of Murtaza Satti, seat will be almost confirm for them.

Sardar Saleem who is ex-nazim of Tehsil Muree is a strong political figure due to his active involvement at grass root level politics. If he contest election on PML-Q ticket, he will be one of the top contestant and if he supports PPP candidate, this will be a clear indication of victory for PPP.

Jamat e Islami is another contesting party which has a sold ideological support in the region. JI had a successful rally in Murree a month back where JI Chief Syed Munawar Hasan was the guest. Solat Majeed Satti will be JI candidate from NA 50 Murree who will be able to get a good much Satti biradri vote as well apart from JI ideological votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>