NA 74 Bhakkar II

Dr Afzal Khan Dhandla

Voting Statistics of Constituency
Registered Votes 375159
Percentage of Votes Polled to Registered Voters 68.16%

Detailed Result

Contesting Candidates Party Affiliation Votes Polled
Sardar Sikander Ahmad Khan Independent 3041
Syed Mukhtiar Hussain Shah Sherazi Independent 234
Naveed Zafar Shah Jamaat-e-Islami Pakistan 1374
Ahmad Nawaz Khan Independent 94216
Dr Muhammad Afzal Khan Dhandla Independent 116831
Alama Syed Farman Raza Abidi Muttahidda Qaumi Movement 227
Habib Ullah Khan Niwani Independent 8226
Muddassar Nazeer Utra Independent 194
Hasnain Ijaz Khan Shahani Pakistan Peoples Party Parliamentarians 13421
Rafique Ahmad Khan Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf 6078

Dr Muhammad Afzal Khan Dhandla(Independent)
Ahmad Nawaz Khan(Independent)
Pakistan Peoples Party Parliamentarians
Other Parties

NA 74 Bhakkar is a constituency of sectarian and biradri politics where candidates sectarian and family affiliations decide the election results. Mostly this constituency consists of urban voters of Bhakkar city and rural voters of Bhakkar surrounding and Tehsil Mankera. Literacy rate in NA 74 Bhakkar is very low and people are not much politically aware. Niwani and Dhandhla are the two main clans dominating the politics of NA 74 Bhakkar.

NA 74 Bhakkar 2008 Election Results:
In 2008 general elections, Independent candidate Rasheed Akbar Khan Niwani won this seat as an independent candidate. Rasheed Akbar Niwani belongs to Shia sect and he mainly cashed sectarian votes of Bhakkar.

Complete results of NA 74 Bhakkar for 2008 elections are given below:
Rasheed Akbar Khan Niwani (Independent) 98366 Votes
Dr Afzal Khan Dhandhla (PML-N) 86688 Votes
Hafeez Ullah Advocate (Independent) 3272 Votes

List of candidates contesting election from NA-74 are:
Rasheed Akbar Khan (PML-N)
Rafique Ahmad Khan Niazi (PTI)
Hasnain Ijaz Khan Shahani (PPP)
Allama Syed Farman Raza Abidi (MQM)
Naveed Zafar Shah (Jamaat-e-Islami)

NA 74 Bhakkar Party Position 2013 Election:
PML-N is in a stronger position in NA 74 Bhakkar after joining of Niwani family. However, now the real tough situation is within PML-N in finalizing the candidate for NA 74. Rasheed Akbar Niwani and Dr Afzal Dhandhla both are strong political figures and both are eager to get NA 74 ticket.

PTI is also struggling and a huge rally of Imran Khan also took place in Bhakkar on April 12, 2012 in which Najeeb Ullah Khan (Ex MNA of PML-N) joined PTI. Dr Nisar is also working hard in the Bhakkar region for PTI. However, it seems very very difficult for PTI to upset in NA 74 against PML-N heavyweights.

One Response to NA 74 Bhakkar II

  1. Khwaja Aftab Shah says:

    BHAKKAR- a gateway to Pakistan for Taliban. The people of BHAKKAR district have elected a chief minister of Punjab and a prime minister of Pakistan in different elections. Although a goup of local leaders sponsor the occasion and personally benefited by this gesture but basically the people of Bhakkar elected these leaders in hope of a better Bhakkar. It’s requested to the President, prime minister of Pakistan and chief minister of Punjab to please consider upgrading Bhakkar as a divisional head quarter by appointing a commissioner to provide better governance, extra facilities and security in the area. There are news that religious violence and drug smuggling is increased in the area recently. Dera- Bhakkar is already a famous drug traffic route to the world as per BBC. Bhakkar is a gate way to the Punjab and Sind provinces for NWFP and Afghanistan. Bhakkar has been head quarters of divisional level organization of Thal Development Authority since 1952. TDA was abolish in 1971 on corruption charges against it’s high officials. Bhakkar is also a border district to Dera Ismail Khan and a capital city of Thal desert area-spread in six districts in Punjab. Thanking you, Khwaja Aftab Ali Shah, First and the only lawyer who earned US scholarship to study Intellectual Property laws, presently residing in Florida, U.S.A

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>